Have you ever wanted to enjoy doing something, only to find out you really hate it once you try it? I wanted to run. I see people running, usually men, who make it look so easy and almost beautiful. In an aside – why is it that men run so easily? Women tend to look like they’re in pain most of the time while the men are just floating along. It’s really not fair! Anyway, where was I? See runners, blah blah blah. Oh, right! I’ve also read about a blogger’s quest to become a runner, and subsequent arrival at fitness and better health. And I’ve cheered for her, not always vocally since I tend to be something of a lurker, but deep down I’ve wished her well and kind of  wanted to be her.

I researched Couch to 5K and downloaded the app to my phone. I planned out my play lists. I was READY! And then I started running …. sorry, had to take a moment to compose myself. I didn’t run – I basically walked, jogged a few steps, breathed very, very heavily, walked a little more, let my dog pull me along for a bit. I was so miserable! By the time I was done, my hips hurt, my knees were killing me, and my ankle was wobbling along saying it was about to fold if I tried this torture one more time. But I did try it several times. And it never got better.

This is not the first time I’ve tried to spark a love affair with running. Back in high-school, as Helen and I were going to the theater to see The Outsiders just one more time, we would run part way. In college, I had a friend who was a runner. I thought that it looked like an easy way to stay in shape. Every time, I wound up hurt in one way or another.

You would think I’ve gotten to the point where common sense kicks in. I get hurt walking – why would I want to invite more pain into my life? There are so many other ways to get exercise without hating it. The wedding looms over me (in 304 days) and I want to do more than hobble down the aisle in front of my sister. So, what to do? Helen and I have started walking the dogs at night just before we go to bed. What I envisioned as a quick jaunt around the block to tire the hellbeasts out has actually blossomed into a 45-60 minute walk. We move enough to get the heart pumping and it’s given us time to plan out what we’re doing for the business and discuss strategies to bring more people to our store.

We’ve also started exercising first thing in the morning. Although I hate waking up any earlier, trying to fit in any kind of structured exercise after work just doesn’t work for us. So we’re interchanging yoga and Zumba. I may not enjoy myself completely while performing the yoga poses, but my body feels so much better. However, I’ve found that what I really love to do is to dance. I don’t do it well, since I’m a bit of a klutz. Every now and then I glance over and I swear the dogs are just laughing their heads off at our “moves.” I don’t even want to know what the cats are doing – probably vomiting in disgust. But I’m having a ball.

So,  I won’t be running a 5K anytime soon. But maybe I’ll enter a dance marathon instead. *Thunk* That was me falling out of my chair, I’m laughing so hard! But hey, at least I’m working my stomach muscles, right?

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “”

  1. Body Workout 101 Says:

    fragileearthplush…

    I found your entry interesting do I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

  2. Badger Says:

    I’ve always dreamed of being able to run, too, but am basically completely crap at it. I managed a half marathon once that almost made me die, but now I’m back on the rowing machine and in the pool, which I actually enjoy and don’t spend every minute hating. So stick with your dancing and sod running! And good luck with the exercise/diet thing!

Leave a Reply

