Hi-Ho, Hi-Ho, It’s Back To Work We Go!

I took the week between Christmas and New Years as vacation time. What with the job, the store, the family (and their penchant for celebrating birthdays in December), and the undead, a rest was sorely needed. It was marvelous! There were naps. I read a few books and caught up on some magazines. Helen & I finished up past episodes of The Office and got sucked into the first season of Friday Night Lights.  We also got to relax with the four legged creatures that run our household, which was greatly appreciated. Over the course of an evening, I had three cats reclining on various parts of my legs. Not only do they provide a tremendous amount of comfort, but the heat that radiates off their bodies could be used to warm a small nation.

We got a chance to play with new toys that we received for Christmas. Helen had lots of success with her bandanas while my cat toys were met with derision at first by the felines, but, once they caught whiff of the catnip buried inside, with more interest. I’m getting better at closing up the final seams, but they’re still a little wonky.

One of the best parts of having a week off was the freedom from time. I didn’t have to be anywhere at a certain time, I could sleep in (as much as is possible with two young dogs), and when I wanted to stop something, I could. There is so much power in doing things at your own pace. I got more accomplished during a week of relaxing than I did in the three weeks leading up to Christmas at my job.

Since coming back yesterday, I’m finding it difficult to focus on “work” stuff. There are so many other things I’d rather be doing. Helen is sending me pictures of jewelry to order for the store and there is a sick cat at home (who is getting better all the time – thank you for your well wishes) and god! what I wouldn’t do for a nap right about now:) The day is coming when I will rule my schedule. Until then, I will  squirrel away my money so I will be ready when opportunity knocks.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

